Top Five Posts of 2015

Having read some books which shattered my progressive views about education, most notably Daisy Christodoulou’s Seven Myths About EducationRobert Peal’s Progressively Worse, and E D Hirsch’s Cultural Literacy, I entered the world of education social media in April 2015 with all the zeal of the recent convert. I was very excited and enthusiastic about the possibilities of sharing the discoveries I had made, and debating the issues with other teachers.

I had 26000 views in total in 2015, and December was the best month so far, with over 5000 views. I’m very grateful to the many more experienced bloggers who have helped to get my writing out to a wider audience, particularly Andrew Old and David Didau.

My enthusiasm is still as strong as ever. I’ve really enjoyed my first year in blogging and tweeting. It’s been a great way of clarifying and developing my ideas, but it has also opened the door to meeting some of the heroes of the education debate. Daisy Christodoulou, in particular, was very generous in giving her time to help me to work out how to apply the ideas which she expounds so brilliantly in her book. It was following a meeting with her over the summer that I decided to adopt Engelmann’s Expressive Writing at Key Stage Three.

I’ve also visited the wonderful Michaela Community School twice: once on a normal working day, and once on a Saturday for the ‘Debating Education’ conference. They are a guiding light to me.

The five most-read posts of 2015 reflect this journey and these influences. I’m particularly pleased to see Engelmann and MCS featuring prominently. The top posts are:

  1. I Love Everything About Michaela
  2. The Cult of Differentiation
  3. Against Analysis, or Why William Doesn’t Engage the Reader
  4. Engelmann’s Direct Instruction: I’m a Convert
  5. Why Bother with Recent Literature?

Along with the posts that address major issues in educational approaches, it’s also good to see a couple that are very specifically about how to approach my subject, English, at numbers three and five.

I love everything about the world of educational social media. I love the vigorous debate between teachers across the world. It will never end! Keep fighting the good fight in 2016, fellow tweachers!

3 thoughts on “Top Five Posts of 2015

  1. Many thanks Anthony for your thoughtful discussion and informative topics on everything education. As a parent, I have found a great deal of support through your writing, and it reinforces the notion that both a great deal of parents and teachers are united in their pursuit of effective instruction for our kids.

    Let’s hope 2016 might bring some positive changes in the education system. This particular article, is encouraging for a positive start to the new year http://www.bbc.com/news/education-35216318.

    Like

Thoughtful and reasonable discussion is always welcome.

